Purchase >1 pairs and get up to 40% off!

Shop Now

اسأل الدكتور لافيغنا

الدكتور (رون لافيغنا) هو طبيب في طب الشيخوخة ولديه خبرة أكثر من 40 عاما

الرياضيون

أنا رياضي (عداء ، دراج ، تنس) وأنا مهتم في منع ألم القدم. أعرف أن هناك الكثير من الخيارات المختلفة عندما أبحث عن وقحات لأضعها في حذائي هل هناك فرق كبير بينهما ؟

هناك مجموعة كبيرة من الوقاحات في السوق البعض يتم تسويقه ببساطة كخيار لجعل أحذيتك أكثر راحة أو إزالة رائحة القدم بينما البعض الآخر يدعي القيام بكل شيء

كa رياضي جدي ، أنت ستريد البحث عن الملاحق العظمية التي تعطيك:

  • دعم قوي مهما كنت تفعل.
  • الجري والدراجات يتطلب قاعدة قوية و متينة و بينما تلعب التنس بحركاتها الجانبية السريعة

ألعب كرة القدم مرتين إلى ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع لقد كنت أعاني من ألم في الركبة مؤخرا هل له علاقة بنوع الأحذية التي كنت أرتديها؟

من المحتمل أن أحذيتك تساهم في ألم قدمك لكن من المهم النظر إلى الأشياء الأخرى قبل أن تصفر على أحذيتك

اسأل نفسك الأسئلة التالية:

  • هل لديك إصابات في ركبك يمكن أن تتفاقم بسبب جدول كرة القدم المستمر ؟
  • هل مجموعتك الحالية من المرابط غير ملائمة ؟
  • هل تمدد و ترتدى؟

إذا أجبت بنعم عندها قد تحتاج إلى زوج جديد من المرابط  عندما تبحث عن المرابط تأكد من العثور على زوج ثابت حقا وعناق قدمك بشكل صحيح. كل الحركات السريعة التي تقوم بها خلال مباراة كرة قدم-الإنعطافات المفاجئة ، التوقف السريع و طقات قدمك و ساقك-تحتاج حقا إلى نعل قوي قوي.

دفعت لربطك مع زوج من Orthera تقويم فعال للسيطرة القصوى والاستقرار.

أنا وزوجتي متقاعدان ، لكننا كنا دائما نشطين جدا. مؤخرا زوجتي كانت لديها طاقة أقل وكان من الصعب جعلها تريد أن تركض معي هل تعتقد أن تقويم العظام يمكن أن يعطيها المزيد من الطاقة؟

إذا كانت تعاني من ألم في القدم ، وقالت انها ربما لن ترغب في الذهاب على الأعمال اليومية بعد الآن. إسألها إذا أقدامها أو ظهرها تزعجها أو إذا تشعر بالألم أثناء أو بعد المهرجانات. إذا كان لديها دائما نمط حياة نشط ، يمكن أن يكون الألم الذي يسبب لها البقاء بعيدا عن قدميها. تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد على تخفيف بعض الألم الذي قد تشعر به الألم يمكن أن يكون مرهق. مع ألم أقل ، هي قد تواجه a دفعة في الطاقة. إذا جعلوها تهرول أكثر راحة ، فمن المرجح أن ستكون أكثر تحفيزا للخروج إلى هناك بجانبك

أرى أن موقع (أوثيرا) يذكر الميكانيكا الحيوية كثيرا ما زلت غير متأكد من أنني أفهم ما هو الميكانيكا الحيوية وكيف يتعلق بقدمي. هل يمكنك شرح الأمر أكثر ؟

الميكانيكا الحيوية يبدو وكأنه شيء من الخيال العلمي, ولكن في الواقع, انها مجرد دراسة الجسم (وغيرها من النظم البيولوجية) من خلال النظر في ذلك مثل نظام ميكانيكي (مثل آلة). من خلال إيلاء اهتمام وثيق لأشياء مثل مشية ، إجهاد ، قوة وفسيولوجيا معا ، يمكنك أن تنظر إلى قدمك كنوع من آلة مليئة بأجزاء مختلفة متصلة. فكر في عظامك ، عضلاتك وأوتار كتروس ، التروس والأسلاك ، ويمكنك الحصول على فكرة أفضل عن الميكانيكا الحيوية هو. الحقول مثل الطب الرياضي ، علم الحركية وأكثر كلها تنظر إلى جسم الإنسان بنفس الطريقة.

ألم الظهر

زوجتي تقول لي أن لدي موقف رديء عندما أكون في العمل. تقول إذا أنا لا أطوره ، سأبدو مثل " C " في عمري الكبير. دكتوري أخبرني أنه لا يوجد خطب في كتفي وعمودي الفقري هل يمكن للتقويم أن يساعدني على الوقوف بشكل مستقيم؟

نعم ، الملاحق العظمية يمكن أن تساعد موقفك بتزويد مؤسستك بالدعم الكافي. ولكن يجب عليك أيضا الاستماع إلى زوجتك.

في عام 2004 في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي وجدت الدراسة أن المهن التي تشارك المفرط تنحدر القرفصاء قد عواقب وخيمة على المدى الطويل على الموقف. ووجدوا أن العمل الذي يتطلب وضعا متدنيا يرتبط ارتباطا قويا بحالات عالية من اضطرابات الظهر المنخفضة.

عن طريق توزيع الوزن بشكل صحيح ومواءمة العمل الداخلي لأقدامك ، الملاحق العظمية يمكن أن تخفف الميول الطبيعية لجسدك للتراخي ، الذي يمكن أن يسبب أقدامك للتعويض عن طريق تسطيح أقواسك وخلق ضغط غير مريح.

ألم القدم

أعمل كصراف مصرفي ووظيفتي تتطلب مني أن أقف على قدمي طوال اليوم وأرتدي الكعب العالي أقدامي تؤلمني حقا بعد العمل مؤخرا. هل بإمكان الملاحق أن يجعل كعبي مرتاحا أكثر ؟

من أجل العمل أو اللعب الناس يحبون الكعب العالي ليس فقط أنها تجعل ساقيك تبدو كبيرة ، انها طريقة سهلة لتكون الموضة إلى الأمام حتى لو كنت تحت قواعد اللباس صارمة. لكن بغض النظر عن مدى روعتها ، الكعب العالي نادرا ما يشعر كبيرة. كرة من آلام القدم ، جلود وأكثر يمكن أن تظهر في كثير من الأحيان بعد ساعات على قدميك. غالبا الكعب العالي يسبب انهيار القدم مما يعني أنك ستشعر بألم حارق في مقدمة قدمك تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد قدمك عن طريق توزيع أكثر ملائمة وزن جسمك ويمكن أن يساعد على تخفيف الإرهاق والأخافة التي تأتي في بعض الأحيان من الكعب. أتعتقد أنهم سيأخذون ذلك الشيء المميز من أكثر كعوب حذائك إثارة ؟ لا تقلق ، معظم تقويم العظام غير قابل للجراحة لدرجة أنك لن تراهم حتى عندما يكونون داخل حذائك

أقوم بالكثير من التنزه والمشي مع كلبي مؤخرا بدأت أصاب ببثور مؤلمة ما الذي يسببهم ؟

السبب الأكثر شيوعا من بثور هو الأحذية التي لا تناسب بشكل صحيح—وهذا هو السبب ربما لم تلاحظ أي بثور على الكلب الخاص بك القدمين. العديد من الناس يعتقدون أنهم نتيجة حذاء ضيق جدا ، لكن الحقيقة هي أن حذاء فضفاض هو أكثر من ذلك بكثير من المرجح أن يسبب التقرحات. في كبير جدا الأحذية ، قدمك لديها الكثير من الغرفة للتحرك ، معنى مختلف أجزاء منه (مثل كعب أو أصابع) فرك ضد الداخل من الحذاء الخاص بك مرارا وتكرارا.

استخدام تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد على تثبيت قدمك داخل حذائك ، الحفاظ على كعب الخاص بك وأصابع قدميك من التحرك حولها وفرك داخل حذائك. إذا كنت عادة الحصول على بثور على الجزء السفلي من قدمك ، يمكنك الاستفادة الأكثر من إدراج لا يدعم فقط قدمك، تجنب الاحتكاك داخل حذائك وسوف تجنب معظم البثور.

أنا مريض بالسكر من النوع الأول أوصى زوجي مؤخرا أن أجرب تقويم العظام لألم قدمي هل تعتقد بأنهم يمكن أن يساعدوا؟

أحد أعراض مرض السكري هو ضعف الدورة الدموية وتلف الأعصاب في القدمين ، لذا تلك الأشياء يمكن أن تكون محفزة لألم القدم. تقترح الجمعية الأمريكية لمرض السكري أن تبحث عن الأحذية التي تناسب بشكل جيد ومصنوعة من المواد الطبيعية حتى يتمكنوا من التنفس. وهم يوصون أيضا أن تبحث عن الأحذية التي تدعم قدمك بحزم. إذا لم يوفر لك حذائك الدعم الكافي إبحثي عن مدخل تقويمي من المهم ارتداء الأحذية في جميع الأوقات ، والتأكد من بأنك تنتبه إلى أقدامك الآن بأنك تعاني ألم القدم وله مرض السكري من النوع 1. إستشير طبيبك إذا عندك أي أسئلة أو ألم قدمك أكثر من مجرد a مشكلة صغيرة.

يبدو أن هناك مليون نوع مختلف من الجوارب بالخارج كنت أتساءل إن كانت أنواع الجوارب التي أرتديها تسبب ألم في القدم ؟

صحيح أن الجوارب الخاطئة قد تسبب عدم الراحة الجوارب مع طبقات سميكة عالية يمكن أن تفرك قدميك إذا كان حذائك ضيق جدا ، مما يسبب لك البثور أو البقع الساخنة على قدميك. إن لم تكن جواربك مناسبة وتلتصق بأحذيتك فهذا قد يسبب بعض الألم أيضا تأكد من أنك ترتدي جوارب مناسبة لأنشطتك المختلفة أنت لا تلبس جوارب صوف سميكة للتنزه مع أحذية لباسك مثل أنت لا تلبس جوارب رقيقة للعب كرة السلة. ارتداء المناسب لتركيب الجوارب والأحذية ينبغي أن تساعد في تخفيف أي ألم تشعر به على الرغم من أنه من الممكن أن قدمك قد يكون الألم بسبب شيء آخر غير الجوارب. أوصي برؤية طبيب أقدام لمعرفة ذلك

لقد كنت أعمل على مواقع البناء في آخر 8 أو 9 سنوات لقد كنت أعاني من ألم في قدمي مؤخرا وأعتقد أنه حان الوقت لتجربة تقويم العظام هل هناك فرق كبير بين تقويم العظام ؟

هناك تقويم عظام مصمم لكل نوع من الأحذية قد يكون لديك. إذا كنت في موقع بناء ، لن ترغب في الحصول على تقويم العظام الذي صمم ليتناسب مع الأحذية اللباس. تقويم العظام المصمم للأحذية الرياضية سيكون خيارا أفضل لك بما أنك تقف على قدميك أكثر وتحتاج لحذاء مع دعم كامل للقدم مع كأس كعب مستقر ودعم ثابت ، سيكون لديك أساس أكثر أمانا من مع اللباس تقويم ، الذي لا تشغيل كامل طول حذائك.

لقد كنت أعاني من ألم الورم هل لديك أي نصيحة لي التي يمكن أن تساعد على تخفيف بعض من ألمي؟

ألم الورم شائع جدا أسهل طريقة لتخفيف الألم هو التأكد من أنك ترتدي حذاء مريح النساء مع التوابع يجب أن يتجنبوا الأحذية ذات الكعب العالي. وسواء كنت ذكرا أو أنثى ، تأكد من أن كل حذاء ترتديه لديه مساحة كافية في إصبع قدمك. إبحث عن الأحذية الواسعة العرض ، أيضا. تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد ألم الورم عن طريق تقديم دعم قوي إلى الأقواس الخاصة بك ، منذ الورم يؤثر على كيفية قدمك توزيع الوزن الجسم. الألم من الورم الخاص بك يأتي بشكل رئيسي من كيفية تناسب حذائك ، لذلك بذل قصارى جهدك للعثور على الأحذية التي هي مريحة. إذا كان تقويم العظام يجعلها أكثر راحة ، ثم كنت قد حصلت على حل كبير واحد-اثنين لألم قدمك.

لقد تم تشخيصي للتو بورم عصبي أنا أتألم كثيرا أبحث عن أي شئ الذي يمكن أن يعطيني راحة وأنا صادفت موقعك. هل يمكن للتقويم أن يريحني من الألم ؟

آسف لسماع عن الورم العصبي! أنا متأكد أنه ليس علي أن أخبرك أن الورم العصبي يمكن أن يكون من أكثر الأشياء المؤلمة التي يجب التعامل معها عندما يتعلق الأمر بقدميك الطفرات الحيوية الميكانيكية مثل الأقواس العالية ، فوق الشق و الانحناء المفرط في أصابع قدمك يمكن أن تجتمع مع العصب تقويم العظام يمكن أن يخفف بعض من ألمك بتصحيح الإختلالات والشذوذ المختلفة في قدمك. الدعم القوسي بالإضافة إلى أكثر من توزيع الوزن يمكن أن يخفف بعض ألم قدمك. تأكد من تجنب الأحذية الضيقة أو الكعب العالي تماما - أنها يمكن حقا تفاقم أي ألم تشعر به من الورم العصبي الخاص بك.

أنا حامل في الشهر السادس بطفلي الثاني لدي طفل يجب أن أطارده أيضا قدماي بدأت تنتفخ و أشعر أن توازني غير مستقر قليلا هل يمكن للتقويم أن يساعد توازني و ألمي؟

تهانينا على طفلك الثاني! وللإجابة على سؤالك ، نعم ، تقويم العظام يمكن أن تساعدك مع التوازن الخاص بك. عندما تكون حاملا ، جسمك يمر بعدد من التغييرات ، بعضها واضح والبعض الآخر لا يمكن كشفه. قد تبدو قدمك منتفخة لكن عملية حمل الطفل تغير توزيع الوزن في جسمك ويمكن أن تؤثر على ساقيك وركبتيك مشاكل القدم الشائعة أثناء الحمل تشمل الإفراط ، الذي يسحق قوس قدمك وذمة ، مما يسبب انتفاخ أقدامك. تقويم الأعضاء يمكن أن يدعم أقواسك ويتأكد كل خطوة تأخذ مدعوم ، لذا أنت لن فقط يخفف ألم القدم لكن أيضا يمنع ألم الظهر.

لدي مطرقة. هل لديك أي نصائح علاج بالنسبة لي التي يمكن أن تجعل قدمي يشعر أكثر راحة؟

إذا كان لديك hammertoe جامدة (واحد الذي لا ينحني في المفصل) أنت ربما تواجه الكثير من الألم. قد تكون جبيرة أصابع القدم فكرة جيدة بالنسبة لك ، ولكن أهم شيء يجب القيام به هو الحصول على زوج مناسب من الأحذية. تجنب أي شيء مع مربع اصبع قدم ضيق ، انها سوف تجعل الأمور أسوأ. الدروع الأمامية والصابون أفضل إذا كان لديك hammertoe مرنة. ولكن في كلتا الحالتين الكرة من قدمك التعامل مع الكثير من الإجهاد مما ينبغي ، الذي هو على الارجح السبب أنت تشعر بالألم إذا ساءت مشكلتك ولم تتحسن ، تأكد من رؤية الطبيب.

كنت أعاني من ألم حاد في قدمي اليسرى لم أذهب إلى طبيب الأقدام بعد لكني كنت أقرأ قليلا عن إلتهاب اللفافة الشوكي هل هناك طريقة أستطيع أن أقول إذا كان هذا هو سبب ألمي؟

بينما لا توجد طريقة مؤكدة لتحديد ألمك كتهاب اللفافة دون زيارة محترف ، الأعراض الشائعة تتضمن ألم طعن خلال الخطوات الأولى القليلة التي تتخذها في الصباح أو بعد فترة طويلة من الجلوس. ألم (بلانتار)حاد و مركزي في كعب قدمك الأعصاب المقروصة وكسور الإجهاد يمكن أن يكون لها أعراض مماثلة ، لذلك للتأكد من كنت تتعامل مع الألم العوالق ، القيام بزيارة لطبيبك. إذا تم تشخيصك بالتهاب اللفافة الشوكي ، تقويم العظام إدخال يمكن أن يخفف بعض الألم تشعر به بتوزيع الضغط بشكل أكثر تساويا في جميع أنحاء قدمك.

الجري / المشي

أنا عداء مسافات طويلة وأنا أتدرب حاليا لأول ماراثون لي أنا عادة أركض بين خمسة وعشرة أميال كل يوم أنا قلق من أن هذا قد يسبب ضررا على المدى الطويل لقدمي هل يمكن للتقويم أن يساعد؟

كما تعلمون ، تدريب الماراثون عملية طويلة. بمرور الوقت لا يمكن أن يؤثر عليك جسديا فحسب بل عقليا أيضا آخر شيء تريد أن تتدخل مع التمارين الخاصة بك ، تكييف وأكثر من ذلك هو إصابة. بينما لا أستطيع أن أعدك أن تقويم العظام سيمكنكم من إكمال الماراثون (هذا عائد لكم!), orthotics can help prevent foot injuries from occurring or getting worse.

تقويم العظام يمكن أن يوفر لك المزيد من الوسائد والاستقرار ، الذي يمكن أن يقلل من الإفراط في التزايد. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الملاحق العظمية يمكن أن تبقي كعب بك من التدحرج بعيدا إلى الداخل. حظا سعيدا مع الماراثون الأول الخاص بك!

أقوم بالكثير من التنزه والمشي مع كلبي مؤخرا بدأت أصاب ببثور مؤلمة ما الذي يسببهم ؟

السبب الأكثر شيوعا من بثور هو الأحذية التي لا تناسب بشكل صحيح—وهذا هو السبب ربما لم تلاحظ أي بثور على الكلب الخاص بك القدمين. العديد من الناس يعتقدون أنهم نتيجة حذاء ضيق جدا ، لكن الحقيقة هي أن حذاء فضفاض هو أكثر من ذلك بكثير من المرجح أن يسبب التقرحات. في كبير جدا الأحذية ، قدمك لديها الكثير من الغرفة للتحرك ، معنى مختلف أجزاء منه (مثل كعب أو أصابع) فرك ضد الداخل من الحذاء الخاص بك مرارا وتكرارا.

استخدام تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد على تثبيت قدمك داخل حذائك ، الحفاظ على كعب الخاص بك وأصابع قدميك من التحرك حولها وفرك داخل حذائك. إذا كنت عادة الحصول على بثور على الجزء السفلي من قدمك ، يمكنك الاستفادة الأكثر من إدراج لا يدعم فقط قدمك، تجنب الاحتكاك داخل حذائك وسوف تجنب معظم البثور.

مهلا ، أنا على فريق المسار في مدرستي. كنت أتساءل إذا كان تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعدني في الحصول على وقت أسرع على 500 متر. 

تقويم العظام يمكن أن يفعل أشياء تساعدك على الوصول إلى هدفك ، مثل محاذاة القدم والساق والعمود الفقري بشكل صحيح أو امتصاص الصدمة التي تأخذ مع كل خطوة ، الملاحق العظمية يمكن أن تساعد أيضا على منع الإصابة. لذا بينما نحن لن نعطي أي وعود عندما يتعلق الأمر بأدائك ، نحن سنقول بأنهم لن يبطئونك ، وهم سيساعدونك من إيذاء نفسك ،

الأحذية / الأحذية / الكعب

أعمل كصراف مصرفي ووظيفتي تتطلب مني أن أقف على قدمي طوال اليوم وأرتدي الكعب العالي أقدامي تؤلمني حقا بعد العمل مؤخرا. هل بإمكان الملاحق أن يجعل كعبي مرتاحا أكثر ؟

من أجل العمل أو اللعب الناس يحبون الكعب العالي ليس فقط أنها تجعل ساقيك تبدو كبيرة ، انها طريقة سهلة لتكون الموضة إلى الأمام حتى لو كنت تحت قواعد اللباس صارمة. لكن بغض النظر عن مدى روعتها ، الكعب العالي نادرا ما يشعر كبيرة. كرة من آلام القدم ، جلود وأكثر يمكن أن تظهر في كثير من الأحيان بعد ساعات على قدميك. غالبا الكعب العالي يسبب انهيار القدم مما يعني أنك ستشعر بألم حارق في مقدمة قدمك تقويم العظام يمكن أن يساعد قدمك عن طريق توزيع أكثر ملائمة وزن جسمك ويمكن أن يساعد على تخفيف الإرهاق والأخافة التي تأتي في بعض الأحيان من الكعب. أتعتقد أنهم سيأخذون ذلك الشيء المميز من أكثر كعوب حذائك إثارة ؟ لا تقلق ، معظم تقويم العظام غير قابل للجراحة لدرجة أنك لن تراهم حتى عندما يكونون داخل حذائك

يبدو أن هناك مليون نوع مختلف من الجوارب بالخارج كنت أتساءل إن كانت أنواع الجوارب التي أرتديها تسبب ألم في القدم ؟

صحيح أن الجوارب الخاطئة قد تسبب عدم الراحة الجوارب مع طبقات سميكة عالية يمكن أن تفرك قدميك إذا كان حذائك ضيق جدا ، مما يسبب لك البثور أو البقع الساخنة على قدميك. إن لم تكن جواربك مناسبة وتلتصق بأحذيتك فهذا قد يسبب بعض الألم أيضا تأكد من أنك ترتدي جوارب مناسبة لأنشطتك المختلفة أنت لا تلبس جوارب صوف سميكة للتنزه مع أحذية لباسك مثل أنت لا تلبس جوارب رقيقة للعب كرة السلة. ارتداء المناسب لتركيب الجوارب والأحذية ينبغي أن تساعد في تخفيف أي ألم تشعر به على الرغم من أنه من الممكن أن قدمك قد يكون الألم بسبب شيء آخر غير الجوارب. أوصي برؤية طبيب أقدام لمعرفة ذلك

 

يرجى ملاحظة:ويقصد بالفاقات المذكورة أعلاه أن تستخدم لأغراض تعليمية فقط وليس لأية مطالبة بشأن منتج معين. كما أنها لا تهدف إلى أن تكون ولا ينبغي أن يفسر على المشورة الطبية أو التشخيص من أي الصحة أو اللياقة البدنية المشكلة ، حالة أو مرض ، أو توصية اختبار معين, طبيب, مقدمي الرعاية, إجراء, خطة العلاج أو منتج أو مسار العمل. Orthera ليس a مزود طبي أو رعاية صحية وإستعمالك هذا الموقع لا يخلق a طبيب / مريض علاقة. وتقدم هذه المعلومات دون أي تمثيل أو ضمان.

Search

x

Ask Dr. LaVigna


Dr. Ron LaVigna is a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine with over 40 years of experience

Athletes

I’m an athlete (runner, cyclist, tennis) and I am interested in preventing foot pain. I know there are a lot of different options when I am looking for insoles to put in my shoes. Is there a huge difference between them?

There is a huge range of insoles that are on the market. Some are marketed simply as an option to make your shoes feel more comfortable or eliminate foot odor whereas others make claims of doing everything from aligning your spine to giving you a foot massage with every step.

As a serious athlete, you’ll want to look for orthotic inserts that give you:

  • Strong support no matter what you’re doing.
  • Running and cycling require a firm, sturdy foundation and while you’re playing tennis, with its quick lateral motions, you’ll want something that stabilizes your heel so that your movements are quick and sharp.

I play soccer about two to three times a week. I’ve been having a lot of knee pain recently. Could it relate to the type of cleats I’ve been wearing?

It’s possible that your cleats are contributing to your foot pain, but it’s important to look at other things before zeroing in on your cleats.

Ask yourself the following Questions:

  • Do you have existing injuries in your knees that could be exacerbated by your continued soccer schedule?
  • Are your current set of cleats ill-fitting?
  • Are they stretched out and worn?

If you answered Yes then you might need a new pair of cleats.  When looking for cleats make sure you find a pair that are really firm and hug your foot properly. All the quick motions you make during a soccer game – sudden turns, quick stops and snaps of your foot and leg – really need a firm sturdy sole.

Paid your cleats with a pair of Orthera Active Orthotics for maximum control and stability.

My wife and I are retired, but we’ve always been pretty active. Lately my wife has been having less energy and it has been harder to get her to want to go jogging with me. Do you think that orthotics could give her more energy?

If she’s experiencing foot pain, she probably isn’t going to want to go on daily jogs anymore. Ask her if her feet or back are bothering her or if she feels pain during or after the jogs. If she’s always had an active lifestyle, it could be pain that’s causing her to stay off her feet. Orthotics can help alleviate some of the pain she might be feeling. Pain can be taxing. With less pain, she might experience a boost in energy. If they make her jog a little more comfortable, it’s likely that she’ll be more motivated to get out there right alongside you.

I see that Orthera’s site mentions biomechanics a lot. I’m still not sure I understand what biomechanics is and how it relates to my feet. Can you please explain it further?

Biomechanics sounds like something straight out of science fiction, but in reality, it’s just the study of your body (and other biological systems) by looking at it like a mechanical system (like a machine). By paying close attention to things like gait, strain, force and physiology together, you can look at your foot as a type of machine filled with various connecting parts. Think of your bones, muscles and tendons as cogs, gears and wires, and you can get a better idea of what biomechanics is. Fields like sports medicine, kinesiology and more are all look at the human body in the same way.

Back Pain

My wife tells me that I have lousy posture when I’m at work. She says if I don’t improve it, I’m going to look like a “C” in my old age. My Dr. tells me there’s nothing wrong with my shoulders and spine. Can orthotics help me stand up straighter?

Yes, orthotic inserts could help your posture by providing your foundation with adequate support. But you should also listen to your wife.

A 2004 University of California Berkley study found that occupations that involved excessive stooping and squatting had dire consequences on long-term posture. They found that work requiring stooped postures is strongly associated with high instances of lower back disorders.

By properly distributing weight and aligning the inner workings of your feet, orthotic inserts could relieve your body’s natural tendencies to slouch, which can cause your feet to compensate by flattening your arches and creating uncomfortable pressure.

Foot Pain

I work as a bank teller and my job requires me to be on my feet all day and wear heels. My feet have really been hurting me after work lately. Can inserts make my heels more comfortable?

For work or play, people love heels. Not only do they make your legs look great, they’re an easy way to be fashion forward even if you’re under a strict dress code. But no matter how great they look, high heels rarely feel great. Ball of foot pain, calluses and more can often pop up after hours on your feet. Most commonly, high heels cause the forefoot to collapse, meaning you’ll feel a searing, burning pain in the front of your foot. Orthotics can help your foot by more properly distributing your body weight and could help relieve the fatigue and achiness that sometimes come from heels. Think they’ll take away that special something from your sexiest heels? Don’t worry, most orthotics are so unobtrusive that you won’t even see them when they’re inside your shoes.

I do a lot of hiking and walking with my dog. Lately I’ve been getting painful blisters. What’s causing them?

The most common cause of blisters is a shoe that doesn’t fit properly—which is why you probably haven’t noticed any blisters on your dog’s feet. Many people think that they’re the result of a shoe that’s too tight, but the truth is that a loose shoe is much more likely to cause blistering. In too-large shoes, your foot has too much room to move around, meaning various parts of it (like your heel or toes) rub against the inside of your shoe repeatedly.

Using an orthotic can help stabilize your foot inside your shoe, keeping your heels and toes from moving around and rubbing the inside of your shoes. If you commonly get blisters on the bottom of your foot, you could benefit the most from an insert that not only supports your foot, but also wicks away moisture. Avoid friction inside your shoes and you’ll avoid most blisters.

I’m a type 1 diabetic. My husband recently recommended that I try orthotics for my foot pain. Do you think they can help?

One of the symptoms of diabetes is poor circulation and nerve damage in the feet, so those things can be triggers for foot pain. The American Diabetes Association suggests that you look for footwear that fits well and is made of natural materials so that they can breathe. They also recommend that you look for shoes that support your foot firmly. If your shoes don’t provide you with enough support, look for an orthotic insert that will. It’s important to wear shoes at all times, and make sure that you pay attention to your feet now that you’re experiencing foot pain and have type 1 diabetes. Consult your doctor if you have any questions or your foot pain is more than just a minor issue.

It seems like there are like a million different kinds of socks out there. I was wondering if the types of socks I wear can actually cause foot pain?

It’s true that the wrong kind of socks can cause discomfort. Socks with thick, raised seams can rub your feet if your shoes are too tight, giving you blisters or hot spots on your feet. If your socks aren’t fitting properly and bunching inside your shoes, that could cause some pain as well. Make sure that you’re wearing appropriate socks for your various activities. You wouldn’t wear thick wool hiking socks with your dress shoes just like you wouldn’t wear thin dress socks to play basketball. Wearing appropriate-fitting socks and shoes should help alleviate any pain you’re feeling, though it’s possible that your foot pain may be due to something other than socks. I recommend seeing a podiatrist to find out.

I’ve been working on construction sites for the last eight or nine years. I’ve been having some serious foot pain recently and I think it’s time to try an orthotic. Is there a big difference between the orthotics?

There is an orthotic designed for each type of shoe you might have. If you’re on a construction site, you won’t want to get the orthotics that is designed to fit in dress shoes. The orthotics designed for athletic shoes would be a better choice for you since you’re on your feet more and you need a shoe with full foot support. With a stabilized heel cup and firm support, you’ll have a more secure foundation than with a dress orthotic, which doesn’t run the entire length of your shoe.

I’ve been suffering from bunion pain. Do you have any advice for me that can help relieve some of my pain?

Bunion pain is very common. The easiest way to alleviate some of your pain is to make sure that you’re wearing comfortable shoes. Women with bunions should avoid high-heeled shoes. And whether you’re male or female, make sure that every shoe you wear has enough room in the toe for your feet. Look for wide-width shoes, too. Orthotics can help bunion pain by providing firm support to your arches, since bunions affect how your foot distributes your body weight. Pain from your bunions mainly comes from how your shoes fit, so do your best to find shoes that are cozy. If an orthotic makes them even more comfortable, then you’ve got a great one-two solution to your foot pain.

I just got diagnosed with neuroma. I’m in a lot of pain. I’m looking for anything that can give me relief and I came across your site. Can orthotics give me any relief for my pain?

Sorry to hear about the neuroma! I’m sure I don’t have to tell you that neuroma can be one of the most painful things to have to handle when it comes to your feet. Biomechanical abnormalities like high arches, over pronation and excessive bending in your toes can combine with nerve so that each step you take causes a shooting pain through your legs and feet. Orthotics can relieve some of your pain by correcting the various imbalances and abnormalities in your foot. Arch support as well as a more even weight distribution can alleviate some of your foot pain. Make sure to avoid narrow shoes or high heels altogether – they can really exacerbate any pain you feel from your neuroma.

I’m 6 months pregnant with my second baby. I have a toddler that I have to chase around as well. My feet are starting to get swollen and I feel like my balance is a bit off. Can orthotics help my balance and pain?

Congratulations on your second baby! And to answer your question, yes, orthotics can help you out with your balance. When you’re pregnant, your body goes through a number of changes, some obvious and others not as detectable. Your foot might just look swollen, but the process of carrying a baby changes the distribution of weight in your body and can affect your legs and knees as well as your feet. Common foot problems during pregnancy include overpronation, which flattens the arch of your foot and edema, which causes your feet to swell. Orthotics can support your arches and make sure every step you take is supported, so you’ll not only relieve foot pain but also prevent back pain.

I have hammertoes. Do you have any treatment advice for me that could make my feet feel more comfortable?

If you have a rigid hammertoe (one that doesn’t bend at the joint) you’re probably experiencing a lot of pain. Crests and toe splints might be good idea for you, but the most important thing to do is to get a properly fitting pair of shoes. Avoid anything with a narrow toe box, it’ll just make matters worse. Forefoot shields and toecaps are a better option if you have a flexible hammertoe. But either way, the ball of your foot is handling a lot more stress than it should, which is probably why you’re feeling pain. If your problem gets worse and not better, make sure to see a doctor.

I have been having sharp pains in my left foot. I haven’t been to a podiatrist yet but I’ve been reading a bit about plantar fasciitis. Is there a way I can tell if this is the cause of my pain?

While there isn’t a surefire way to pinpoint your pain as plantar fasciitis without visiting a professional, common symptoms include a stabbing pain during the first few steps you take in the morning or after a long period of sitting. Plantar pain is sharp and centralized in the heel of your foot. Pinched nerves and stress fractures can have similar symptoms, so to make sure you’re dealing with plantar pain, pay a visit to your doctor. If you’re diagnosed with plantar fasciitis, an orthotic insert can alleviate some of the pain you feel by more evenly distributing pressure throughout your foot.

Running/Walking

I’m a long distance runner and am currently training for my first marathon. I normally run between five and ten miles every day. I’m worried that this could be causing long term damage to my feet. Can orthotics help?

As you know, marathon training is a long process. Over time it can not only take a toll on you physically, but mentally, too. The last thing you want to interfere with your workouts, conditioning and more is an injury. While I can’t promise that orthotics will enable you to complete the marathon (that’s up to you!), orthotics can help prevent foot injuries from occurring or getting worse.

Orthotics can provide you with extra cushioning and stability, which can cut down on overpronation. In other words, orthotic inserts can keep your heel from rolling too far inward. Good luck with your first marathon!

I do a lot of hiking and walking with my dog. Lately I’ve been getting painful blisters. What’s causing them?

The most common cause of blisters is a shoe that doesn’t fit properly—which is why you probably haven’t noticed any blisters on your dog’s feet. Many people think that they’re the result of a shoe that’s too tight, but the truth is that a loose shoe is much more likely to cause blistering. In too-large shoes, your foot has too much room to move around, meaning various parts of it (like your heel or toes) rub against the inside of your shoe repeatedly.

Using an orthotic can help stabilize your foot inside your shoe, keeping your heels and toes from moving around and rubbing the inside of your shoes. If you commonly get blisters on the bottom of your foot, you could benefit the most from an insert that not only supports your foot, but also wicks away moisture. Avoid friction inside your shoes and you’ll avoid most blisters.

Hey, I’m on the track team at my school. I was wondering if orthotics could actually help me get a faster time on the 500 meter. 

An orthotic can do things that help you get to your goal, like properly align your foot, leg and spine or absorb the shock you take with every step, which can get you closer to that ideal posture and position. Orthotic inserts can also help prevent injury. So while we won’t make any promises when it comes to your performance, we will say that they won’t slow you down, and they’ll help you from hurting yourself, which means you’ll get more practice time in to get your time down.

Shoes/Boots/Heels

I work as a bank teller and my job requires me to be on my feet all day and wear heels. My feet have really been hurting me after work lately. Can inserts make my heels more comfortable?

For work or play, people love heels. Not only do they make your legs look great, they’re an easy way to be fashion forward even if you’re under a strict dress code. But no matter how great they look, high heels rarely feel great. Ball of foot pain, calluses and more can often pop up after hours on your feet. Most commonly, high heels cause the forefoot to collapse, meaning you’ll feel a searing, burning pain in the front of your foot. Orthotics can help your foot by more properly distributing your body weight and could help relieve the fatigue and achiness that sometimes come from heels. Think they’ll take away that special something from your sexiest heels? Don’t worry, most orthotics are so unobtrusive that you won’t even see them when they’re inside your shoes.

It seems like there are like a million different kinds of socks out there. I was wondering if the types of socks I wear can actually cause foot pain?

It’s true that the wrong kind of socks can cause discomfort. Socks with thick, raised seams can rub your feet if your shoes are too tight, giving you blisters or hot spots on your feet. If your socks aren’t fitting properly and bunching inside your shoes, that could cause some pain as well. Make sure that you’re wearing appropriate socks for your various activities. You wouldn’t wear thick wool hiking socks with your dress shoes just like you wouldn’t wear thin dress socks to play basketball. Wearing appropriate-fitting socks and shoes should help alleviate any pain you’re feeling, though it’s possible that your foot pain may be due to something other than socks. I recommend seeing a podiatrist to find out.

 

PLEASE NOTE: The foregoing FAQs are intended to be used for educational purposes only and not any claim about a specific product. They are also not intended to be and should not be interpreted as medical advice or a diagnosis of any health or fitness problem, condition or disease; or a recommendation for a specific test, doctor, care provider, procedure, treatment plan, product, or course of action. Orthera is not a medical or healthcare provider and your use of this site does not create a doctor/patient relationship. The information is provided as-is without any representation or warranty.